Senin, 04 Oktober 2010

Jacqueline Wilson


Jacqueline Wilson was born in Bath in 1945 and spent her childhood in Kingston-on-Thames, where she still lives today as a full-time writer. She was educated at Coombe Girls School, Surrey, relocating to Dundee to start work as a teenage journalist with D C Thomson, writing for Jackie teenage magazine, which was named after her.

She has written many books for children, and her sensitive understanding of modern children, the way they live and the problems they encounter, together with her sense of humour, have made her an extremely popular author, particularly with the nine to eleven year age range. She has sold over ten million books, which have been translated into over thirty languages, and at one point in 2000, six of her books were listed among the top ten bestselling children's paperbacks.

Her books include The Story of Tracy Beaker (1991) and its sequel, The Dare Game (2000), which tell the story of a child who lives in residential and foster care; The Bed and Breakfast Star (1994), about a family living in bed-and-breakfast accommodation; and The Illustrated Mum (1999), who is covered in tattoos and has multiple boyfriends. Bad Girls (1996) deals with the subject of bullying, and Double Act (1995), is about identical twins with very different personalities. Her latest books include The Worry Website (2002), a collection of short stories for children aged eight to twelve years, Lola Rose (2003), which deals with the topic of domestic violence within a family, The Diamond Girls (2004) and Clean Break (2005). Her latest books are the autobiographical My Secret Diary (2009), and Hetty Feather (2009).

Jacqueline Wilson has written readers and books for younger children as well as radio plays for the BBC. Her series of books for older readers, Girls in Love (1997), Girls Under Pressure (1998), Girls Out Late (1999), and Girls in Tears (2002) has recently been made into a thirteen-part television series, broadcast on ITV. She wrote her own screen adaptation of Double Act for Channel 4, which won the Royal TV Society Best Children's Fiction Award, and The Story of Tracy Beaker has had three television series.

Her books have also been adapted for radio - namely The Bed and Breakfast Star, The Story of Tracy Beaker and The Dare Game, all of which have been broadcast on BBC Radio 4. Stage adaptations of The Lottie Project (1997) and Double Act are now touring nationally.


Hide and Seek Macmillan, 1972

Ricky's Birthday Macmillan, 1973

Truth or Dare Macmillan, 1973

Snap Macmillan, 1974

Let's Pretend Macmillan, 1976

Making Hate Macmillan, 1977

Nobody's Perfect Oxford University Press, 1982

Waiting for the Sky to Fall Oxford University Press, 1983

The Killer Tadpole Hamish Hamilton, 1984

The Other Side Oxford University Press, 1984

The School Trip Hamish Hamilton, 1984

How to Survive Summer Camp Oxford University Press, 1985

Amber Oxford University Press, 1986

The Monster in the Cupboard Blackie, 1986

Glubbslyme Oxford University Press, 1987

Lonely Hearts Armada, 1987

Supersleuth Armada, 1987

The Power of the Shade Oxford University Press, 1987

Rat Race Armada, 1988

This Girl Oxford University Press, 1988

Vampire Armada, 1988

Falling Apart Oxford University Press, 1989

Is There Anybody There?: Volume 1 - Spirit Raising Armada, 1989

The Left Outs Blackie, 1989

The Party in the Lift Blackie, 1989

Is There Anybody There?: Volume 2 - Crystal Gazing Armada, 1990

Take a Good Look Blackie, 1990

The Dream Palace Oxford University Press, 1991

The Story of Tracy Beaker Doubleday, 1991

The Werepuppy Blackie, 1991

Mark Spark Hamish Hamilton, 1992

The Suitcase Kid Doubleday, 1992

Video Rose Blackie, 1992

Deep Blue Oxford University Press, 1993

Mark Spark in the Dark Hamish Hamilton, 1993

The Mum-minder Doubleday, 1993

Come Back, Teddy! Longman, 1994

Freddy's Teddy Longman, 1994

Teddy at the Fair Longman, 1994

Teddy Goes Swimming Longman, 1994

The Bed and Breakfast Star Doubleday, 1994

The Werepuppy On Holiday Blackie, 1994

Twin Trouble Methuen, 1994

Cliffhanger Yearling, 1995

Double Act Doubleday, 1995

Elsa, Star of the Shelter A Whitman & Co (USA), 1995

Jimmy Jelly Piccadilly Press, 1995

Love from Katie Ginn, 1995

My Brother Bernadette Heinemann, 1995

Sophie's Secret Diary Ginn, 1995

The Dinosaur's Packed Lunch Doubleday, 1995

Bad Girls Doubleday, 1996

Beauty and the Beast A & C Black, 1996

Connie and the Water Babies Methuen, 1996

Mr. Cool Kingfisher, 1996

Girls in Love Doubleday, 1997

The Lottie Project Doubleday, 1997

The Monster Story-Teller Doubleday, 1997

Buried Alive! Doubleday, 1998

Girls Under Pressure Doubleday, 1998

Rapunzel Scholastic, 1998

Girls Out Late Doubleday, 1999

Monster Eyeballs Heinemann, 1999

The Illustrated Mum Doubleday, 1999

Lizzie Zipmouth Corgi, 2000

The Dare Game Doubleday, 2000

Vicky Angel Doubleday, 2000

Dustbin Baby Doubleday, 2001

Sleep-overs Doubleday, 2001

The Cat Mummy Doubleday, 2001

Girls in Tears Doubleday, 2002

Secrets Doubleday, 2002

The Worry Website Doubleday, 2002

Lola Rose Doubleday, 2003

Midnight Doubleday, 2003

Best Friends Doubleday, 2004

The Diamond Girls Doubleday, 2004

Clean Break Doubleday, 2005

Candyfloss Doubleday, 2006

Starring Tracy Beaker Doubleday, 2006

Jacky Daydream Doubleday, 2007

Kiss Doubleday, 2007

Totally Jacqueline Wilson Doubleday, 2007

Cookie Doubleday, 2008

My Sister Jodie Doubleday, 2008

Tracy Beaker Trilogy (including "The Story of Tracy Beaker"; "The Dare Game"; and "Starring Tracy Beaker") Doubleday, 2008

Hetty Feather Doubleday, 2009

My Secret Diary Doubleday, 2009

Prizes and awards

1993 Red House Children's Book Award (Overall Winner) The Suitcase Kid

1995 Carnegie Medal (shortlist) Double Act

1995 Carnegie Medal (shortlist) The Bed and Breakfast Star

1995 Nestlé Smarties Book Prize (Gold Award) (9-11 years category and overall winner) Double Act

1995 Writers' Guild Award (Best Children's Book) (shortlist) Double Act

1995 Young Telegraph/Fully Booked Award The Bed and Breakfast Star

1996 Carnegie Medal (shortlist) Bad Girls

1996 Red House Children's Book Award (Overall Winner) Double Act

1996 Sheffield Children's Book Award Double Act

1996 Young Telegraph/Fully Booked Award (shortlist) Double Act

1998 Red House Children's Book Award (shortlist) The Lottie Project

1999 Carnegie Medal (shortlist) Illustrated Mum

1999 Red House Children's Book Award (shortlist) Girls Under Pressure

1999 Whitbread Children's Book Award (shortlist) The Illustrated Mum

2000 British Book Awards Children's Book of the Year The Illustrated Mum

2000 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize The Illustrated Mum

2000 Lancashire County Library Children's Book of the Year Award (shortlist) Girls Under Pressure

2000 Red House Children's Book Award (shortlist) The Illustrated Mum

2000 Nestlé Smarties Book Prize (Gold Award) (6-8 years category) Lizzie Zipmouth

2000 Nestlé Smarties Book Prize (Kids' Club Network Special Award) Lizzie Zipmouth

2002 WH Smith Award for Children's Literature (shortlist) Dustbin Baby

2003 British Book Awards Author of the Year (shortlist)

2003 British Book Awards Children's Book of the Year Girls in Tears

2003 Blue Peter Book Award: The Book I Couldn't Put Down (shortlist) Secrets

2004 Red House Children's Book Award (shortlist) Lola Rose

2005 Red House Children's Book Award Best Friends

2005 Children's Laureate

2007 DBE

2008 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award (Sweden) (shortlist)

2008 British Book Awards Children's Book of the Year (shortlist) Kiss

Tidak ada komentar:

Posting Komentar